Arena Website - https://www.oakbay.ca/parks-recreation/facilities-rentals/recreation-centres/oak-bay-recreation-centre/arena

Oak Bay Recreation Centre is a community facility consisting of an ice rink with bench seating for fans, swimming pool, weight room, and indoor tennis courts.

In the 1970s and 80s it was the home for the Oak Bay Flyers of the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League (VIJHL). The Flyers won the VIJHL Championship three times - 1981, 1983 and 1985.

Oak Bay Recreation Centre is located a short distance from the site of the Lester Patrick Arena (corner of Epworth Street and Cadboro Bay Road) where the Victoria Cougars won the Stanley Cup in 1925. The Cougars franchise folded in 1926 and the arena burned down in 1929. On Cadboro Bay Road, across the street from the original location of the arena, is a monument commemorating the Cougars Stanley Cup victory.

Oak Bay Alumni

Bob Nicholson, current CEO for the Edmonton Oilers, was hired by Oak Bay Recreation in 1975. He developed youth hockey programs including Oak Bay's Novice Hockey League and coached the Oak Bay Flyers.

In 1979 he was hired by the BC Hockey Amateur Association as the technical director. He later went on to serve as president and chief executive officer of Hockey Canada from 1998 until 2014. During his tenure, Canada won 71 medals in international competition including 44 gold, 20 silver, and 7 bronze. He was hired by the Edmonton Oilers in 2014, to oversee business operations and serve as vice-chairman.

  • Twitter Social Icon

© 2020 by Craig. Created with Wix.com