top of page
Healthy Living Blog Banner 5.png
Celebrating the history of the Victoria Cougars of the Western Hockey League (WHL)

From 1971 to 1994, Memorial Arena was home for the Victoria Cougars. Over their 23 year existence, the Cougars won three West Division titles and one Western Hockey League (WHL) Championship. They established many WHL records that still stand today, including most wins in a season (60 in 1980-81). Fifty-eight Cougars went on to the National Hockey League, including Russ and Geoff Courtnall, Barry Pederson, Mel Bridgman and Hall of Fame goaltender Grant Fuhr.

In 1989, new owners took control of the Victoria Cougars. This marked the beginning of a decline both on and off the ice. After five straight years of missing the playoffs, the Cougars franchise relocated to Prince George in April 1994. Seventeen years later, the WHL returned to Vancouver Island in 2011 with the debut of the Victoria Royals.


Through our blog, we document the history of the Victoria Cougars and Vancouver Island hockey. Send me an email if you have any memories or pictures you would like to share -


Cougars Homepage Bottom.png
  • Twitter Social Icon
bottom of page